Mont Cervin Palace


The Mont Cervin Palace occupies an important place in the history of Zermatt. State Councillor Josef Anton Clemenz from Visp opened the hotel in 1852 as the Mont Cervin; back then it had just 14 beds. Just three years later, the Seiler brothers, including Alexander Seiler, the tourism pioneer of Zermatt, leased the property. In 1867 they bought it and developed it continuously over the years. By 1875, the hotel already had 180 beds.

A long and rich history

In the 19th and early-20th centuries, visitors came to Zermatt only in summer, yet in the Mont Cervin’s second winter season (1928/1929), the hotel already registered 5,950 overnight stays. After the Second World War, in 1945/1946, soldiers of the American forces stationed in Germany holidayed in Zermatt; their brown uniforms dominated the ski pistes in winter and the lanes of the village in summer. On 9 January 1998, the Mont Cervin caught fire, and the main building had to be evacuated. However, normal business resumed just ten days later.

The hotel has benefited from numerous extensions and renovations over the years. Today, the 5-star Mont Cervin Palace offers every modern comfort – along with a strong sense of tradition.