Riffelalp tram

Description

Technical reasons related to the track construction meant the hope of including a station at the Riffelalp resort (built in 1884) had to be shelved during the construction of the Gornergrat Railway (built in 1898). As a result, the Riffelalp railway station came to be situated a few hundred metres from the hotel – which is why Riffelalp hotel pioneer Dr Alexander Seiler submitted a request for a tram line to the national post and rail department of the Swiss Federal Council. This was duly accepted and the local authority subsequently sold Mr Seiler the land to build the Riffelalp tram line that is still used today.

1899 – opening of the 480 m long tram line One year after the construction of the Gornergrat Railway saw the formal opening of possibly the shortest and highest tram line in Europe on 13 July 1899: the line from the Riffelalp train station to the hotel in Riffelalp is just 480 m.

1899 – Technical details

  • Operational launch: 13 July 1899

  • Interruption of service during the war years and from 1961 to 2001

  • Number of stations:2

  • Journey time: 3 minutes

  • Speed: 8 km/h

2001 – Relaunch of the tram service When the five-star Riffelalp Resort hotel was rebuilt and renovated it was decided to relaunch the tram service too. Time had left its mark on the two tram cars, however, and restoring the original tram would have been too difficult.

After considering various options, the decision was eventually made to reconstruct two railcars for passengers, with a trailer for goods and luggage.

2001 – technical details (today's tram)

  • Operational relaunch: 15 June 2001

  • Number of stations: 2

  • Speed: 10 km/h

Location

Riffelalp-Tram

Beschreibung

Die Lage des Riffelalp Resorts (erbaut 1884) konnte beim Bau der Gornergratbahn (erbaut 1898) aus gleisbautechnischen Gründen nicht wie erwünscht berücksichtigt werden. Und so kam es, dass sich die Bahnstation Riffelalp einige hundert Meter vom Hotel entfernt befindet, weshalb der Hotelpionier Dr. Alexander Seiler beim Bundesrat (eidgenössisches Post- und Eisenbahndepartement) ein Gesuch für eine Trambahn einreichte. Dieses wurde angenommen. Daraufhin verkaufte die Burgergemeinde Herrn Seiler den Boden für den Bau des heutigen Riffelalp-Trams.

1899 – Eröffnung des 480 m langen Trams Ein Jahr nach dem Bau der Gornergratbahn fand am 13. Juli 1899 die feierliche Eröffnung der wohl kürzesten und höchsten Trambahn Europas statt: Die Strecke vom Bahnhof Riffelalp bis zum Hotel Riffelalp beträgt lediglich 480 m.

1899 – Technische Daten

  • Betriebseröffnung: 13. Juli 1899

  • Betriebseinstellung: während der Kriegsjahre und 1961 bis 2001

  • Anzahl Stationen: 2

  • Fahrzeit: 3 Minuten

  • Geschwindigkeit: 8 km/h

2001 – Wiederbelebung Trambetrieb Beim Neu- und Umbau des Fünf-Sterne-Hotels Riffelalp Resort dachte man auch an die Wiederbelebung des Trambetriebes. Die Zeit war jedoch nicht spurlos an den beiden Tramwagen vorbeigegangen, sodass eine Instandsetzung der Originaltrams zu aufwendig gewesen wäre.

Nach der Erarbeitung verschiedener Varianten entschied man sich für einen Wiederaufbau von zwei Triebwagen für den Personentransport und einen Anhänger für den Güter- und Gepäcktransport.

2001 – Technische Daten (heutiges Tram)

  • Betriebswiedereröffnung: 15. Juni 2001

  • Anzahl Stationen: 2

  • Geschwindigkeit: 10 km/h

Lage